Mayor McMannes: 2009 RE-ELECTION DAY

ndvd_004My father’s running for re-election this year and has an opponent (And that is a great compliment in itself for this guy!). Now, this is not an opponent that’s saying things which are fair or right, it’s an opponent that feels the need to take personal shots, make blatantly provocative remarks sprinkled with veiled insults. For another man to say that he’ll beat my father “…60-40 in any election” is just not a man in their right mind…and I’m not even talking about his personal psychiatric treatment from his past. I’m talking about a man who walks up to a Mexican man in Kroger and decides to make a joke about how he has a picture of his naked wife with him and did that guy want it? And this man is running for City Mayor? Wow!

The two were interviewed last week about their vision for the future of Humble. If you know my dad, can vote for my dad, or just have an opinion about this interview, I’d love to hear it and pass it along to him. I’m pretty sure the election will turn out in his favor because he told me he has some really great people working hard on his campaign. I guess it’s kind of weird though if you think about it from a national standpoint. I couldn’t imagine having someone say so many negative things about a family member on that scale. Wow!

Also, many of you know that my mouth can run a little wild at times…no, it’s true…no really, it’s true….. 🙂 but I’m really hoping that this man’s campaign, and I’ve known this guy and his family my entire life, well…I just hope he doesn’t make his way to our tent. I don’t want the ‘dark mood’ to show up – it can be a little much at times. 🙂 Anyway, here’s the short interview from each candidate:

Humble mayoral candidates set to square off

Monday, April 27, 2009

Robert Kleeman

– Early voting begins this week –

Humble Mayor Donnie McMannes will face a confident challenger in his bid for a third term, to say the least. Opponent Rick Dickson told a group of 15 supporters at the Humble City Cafe Thursday night he would win the election “60/40.”

“I can say emphatically, ‘it’s a 60/40 election,’” Dickson said. “I realize that I will be in city hall because of the citizens.”

Early voting for the May 9 election began Monday morning and continues all week. Voters can cast ballots from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Humble’s City Hall, 114 West Higgins. Early voting on May 4-5 and on Election Day will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. McMannes spent 30 years as a narcotics officer and seeks his third term as mayor. Dickson has worked as a Houston government liaison, and a real estate and insurance agent. To help voters make a decision, The Tribune asked both candidates a series of questions about their platforms, philosophies and inspirations for public service. Here are their responses.

DONNIE McMANNES

1. What inspired your interest in public service?
I’m not so sure there was a single moment where I actually decided to pursue public service. I don’t like people being treated unfairly, I know that. So, for 37 years as a police officer and deputy constable, I was able to really entrench myself in understanding what public service is. Working with high-ranking, elected officials, as well as being elected to the board of directors for the Houston Police Officers Associations were all wonderful things in my life. But my city, my home has always been Humble, Texas and that’s where I wanted to get involved and make a difference. And so I did.

2. Why do you want to be the City of Humble’s mayor again?
If you look back over the last several years, the leaders of this city have come together to do some fantastic things. We all put Humble first. Again, as a public servant, I do this for the city not for myself. The city council, city workers, police, fire, EMS – we all work very well together. They love this city as much as I do, and that’s why we’re able to get so many things done that benefit the people who live here. Plus, there are several fantastic projects that we just started that I’m excited to see finished.

3. Is there a particular quality you feel has best suited you for the job?
I’m a problem solver. My job for most of my life has been to listen to people and help them find solutions. I’ve always been good at understanding people, but what I do best is solve problems. It’s a basic approach – identify the problem and then use the best resources and as much common sense as possible to fix that problem.

4. What is the greatest life lesson you have learned?
I could give you some philosophical answer, but the first answer that came to my mind was “trust the lord God with all your heart, soul and mind.” I think when you do that, along with treating other people the way that you would like to be treated, I believe that you’ll have made a difference in someone’s day. Just being kind to other people does a lot more than you think.

5. If you had to describe your platform/philosophy in one paragraph, how would you do it?
The city employees are the backbone of the city – period. Without these people, a city can crumble. I’m going to tell you that Humble, Texas, is blessed to have the finest quality of city personnel that you’re going to find anywhere. Our city workers know their job and how to do it right. They’re experts in what they do and they love this city. My number one concern, along with the city council, is to see that their pay and benefits are always kept at a level where they can maintain a good quality of life, not only now but in retirement, as well.

6. If re-elected, what would be your first three priorities?
(1) After re-election, I’ll be back working on some of our top projects. First up is obtaining several millions dollars to improve the drainage citywide so the water will move out of the city faster.
(2) Secondly, if crime increases, I’ll be dealing with issues regarding the number of arrests made by our officers, as well as ways to add to and improve our city jail.
(3) Another important item I’ll be addressing after I’m re-elected is to continue seeking an extension to our Metro agreement regarding the sales tax rebate. This is a huge and complex deal that will benefit our city in great ways. Also, I’ll be meeting with the FAA to discuss issues at hand and then working with them to do what is best for the entire City of Humble.

Posted on May 4, 2009, in Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

